Cato Laurencin, M.D., Ph.D.

Chief Executive Officer, Connecticut Convergence Institute at UConn Health Farmington, CT, US

Dr. Laurencin is a world renowned engineer, physician and scientist who is known for pioneering the field of Regenerative Engineering.

Biography

Cato T. Laurencin, M.D., Ph.D. is the 8th designated University Professor in the 135 year history of the University of Connecticut. He is the Albert and Wilda Van Dusen Distinguished Endowed Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery. He is the Chief Executive Officer of The Connecticut Convergence Institute for Translation in Regenerative Engineering and the Director of the Raymond and Beverly Sackler Center for Biomedical, Biological, Physical and Engineering Sciences at the University of Connecticut. Dr. Laurencin has been named to America?s Top Doctors for over 15 years. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, the American Orthopaedic Association, the American College of Surgeons and the American Surgical Association. He received the Nicolas Andry Award, the highest honor of the Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons. Dr. Laurencin is a pioneer of the new field, Regenerative Engineering. He was named one of the 100 Engineers of the Modern Era by the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, and received the Founder?s Award from the Society for Biomaterials. He received the NIH Director?s Pioneer Award, NIH?s highest and most prestigious research award and the National Science Foundation?s Emerging Frontiers in Research and Innovation Grant Award. Dr. Laurencin is the Editor-in-Chief of Regenerative Engineering and Translational Medicine, and is the Founder of the Regenerative Engineering Society. He is a Fellow of the American Chemical Society, the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, the Biomedical Engineering Society, the Materials Research Society and an AAAS Fellow. The American Association for the Advancement of Science awarded Dr. Laurencin the Philip Hauge Abelson Prize given ?for signal contributions to the advancement of science in the United States?. Dr. Laurencin is active in mentoring, especially underrepresented minority students. He received the American Association for the Advancement of Science Mentor Award, the Beckman Award for Mentoring, and the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Math and Engineering Mentoring in ceremonies at the White House. The SFB established The Cato T. Laurencin, M.D., Ph.D. Travel Fellowship in his honor. Dr. Laurencin is also active in addressing Health Disparities. Dr. Laurencin is an elected member of the National Academy of Medicine, National Academy of Engineering, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He is also active internationally.

Areas of Expertise

Stem Cell Science and Technology, Nanotechnology, Polymeric Materials Science, Tissue Engineering, Regenerative Engineering, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Drug Delivery System

Affiliations

Elected Member, European Academy of Sciences, International Fellow, Royal Academy of Engineering, Chair, National Academies Roundtable on Black Men and Black Women in Science, Engineering, and Medicine, Elected Member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Materials Science Working Group, The African Academy of Sciences, Selection Committee Member, Johnson & Johnson Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research, Edward Orton, Jr. Memorial Lecture (Highest Lectureship) American Ceramic Society

Event Appearances

Health Sciences Ray Symposium Keynote Speaker - 2019

22nd Annual AAPS Keynote Speaker - 2019

AIMBE 2019 Annual Event Featured Speaker - 2019

ICONSAT Nanotechnology Symposium Keynote Speaker - 2018

M.I.T. Black Student?s Union Keynote Speaker - 2018

Education

MIT Ph.D. Biochemical Engineering/Biotechnology

Harvard Medical School M.D. Medicine

Princeton University B.S.E. Chemical Engineering

Accomplishments

Augustus A. White III Founders Award

The J. Robert Gladden Orthopaedic Society (JRGOS) Augustus White Founders Award recognizes the recipient?s exceptional contributions to advancing culturally sensitive musculoskeletal care while promoting diversity within orthopaedics and exemplifying an unswerving commitment to excellence in the field.

John P. McGovern Compleat Physician Award

The John P. McGovern Compleat Physician Award, presented by the Houston Academy of Medicine, is given to individuals who exemplify the life and practices of Sir William Osler, who was considered the ?Father of Modern American Medicine.? The award recognizes multi-accomplished physicians who have enriched the field of medicine with excellence and humaneness.

2024 Kathryn C. Hach Award for Entrepreneurial Success

Presented by the American Chemical Society, the Kathryn C. Hach Award for Entrepreneurial Success recognizes outstanding entrepreneurs who have created a commercially viable business within the chemical enterprise.

2023 Inventor of the Year, Intellectual Property Owners Education Foundation The Intellectual Property Owners Education Foundation (IPOEF) Inventor of the Year is the annual award presented to the world?s most outstanding recent inventors.

2023 Priestley Medalist The Priestley Medal is the highest honor of the American Chemical Society

2021 NAACP Spingarn Medal

Named after the late J.E. Spingarn?then NAACP Chairman of the Board of Directors? this gold medal, awarded annually since 1915, honors ?the man or woman of African descent and American citizenship who shall have made the highest achievement during the preceding year or years in any honorable field.?

U.S. National Academy of Sciences

Elected in recognition of distinguished and continuing achievements in original research

The Materials Research Society Von Hippel Award

The Materials Research Society?s highest honor, the Von Hippel Award, is conferred annually to an individual in recognition of the recipient?s outstanding contribution to interdisciplinary research on materials.

Nelson W. Taylor Lecture and Award 2020

Recipient of the Acta Materialia, Inc. Gold Medal 2020

Mike Hogg Award and Lecture, MD Anderson Cancer Center highest honor 2020

Listed as CrossTalk?s 100 Inspiring Black Scientists in America 2020

Recipient, E.E. Just Lecture Award, American Society for Cell Biology 2019

Recipient, Global Biomaterials Leadership Award, Chinese Association of Biomaterials 2019

Named to America?s Top Doctors (15th consecutive year) 2019

Lee Hsun Lecture Award, Shenyang University, China 2018

Please click here to view the full profile.

This profile was created by Expertfile.